Workers' Compensation Survivor Benefits

If your loved one died in a fatal work accident or from an occupational disease, you may be entitled to workers’ compensation death benefits. Surviving dependents of deceased workers, including spouses and children, are entitled to death benefits. If a deceased worker has no surviving spouse or dependent children, other relatives such as parents, grandparents or siblings may be eligible for partial death benefits.

At the Law Offices of Cliff Enten, we help people throughout the Colorado Front Range recover the benefits they deserve when a family member dies as the result of a tragic work accident or deadly occupational disease. Our lawyers have recovered tens of millions of dollars for our clients. It is critical you speak with one of our experienced lawyers before accepting any sort of settlement from an insurance company or employer. In some cases, the responsible party might even deny liability for the deceased worker’s death.

Call our law firm right away at 303-647-3538. We have offices in Denver, Colorado Springs and Fort Collins, and we handle all cases on a contingency fee basis — no upfront fees, and we do not get paid unless you get paid.

We can help you determine your best course of action and represent you in every step of the legal process. We have extensive experience negotiating and litigating for full and fair settlements. Over 95 percent of cases we handle are settled favorably out of court, and we work in your best interests 100 percent of the time.

Workers’ Death Benefits In Colorado

Colorado workers’ compensation insurance is supposed to provide up to $7,000 for funeral expenses and weekly payments that are calculated just as temporary total disability (TTD) benefits are calculated — two-thirds of the workers’ average weekly wages at the time of injury or death.

  • For dependent spouses, payments are provided for a lifetime or until remarriage, at which time a lump-sum payment equal to two years of benefits will be paid if there are no dependent children.
  • Dependent children may be eligible for payments until age 18, or until age 21 if he or she is a full-time student.
  • If the deceased worker has no spouse or dependent children, other relatives may be eligible for partial payments for six years.
  • If the deceased worker is under age 21 with no dependents, his or her parents are entitled to receive $15,000.

These are the benefits to which you may be entitled under state law. Our attorneys can help you pursue maximum compensation, and we may be able to help you prove causal connection between a work-related injury or disease that causes death after the fact, which could have occurred a few hours or years later.

Even if the deceased workers’ own actions contributed to his or her death, you are entitled to workers’ compensation death benefits.

Contact Us Today

Call us at 303-647-3538 or email us to schedule a free initial consultation. Get the answers you are looking for.

Se habla español.

Additional language services provided.




Hablamos español. Estamos aquí para ayudarte. Es importante saber sus derechos legales. Llame hoy para una consulta gratis.